Allen Edmonds Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Presidio Black Calfskin

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Allen Edmonds.

Presidio Black Calfskin

This shoe is a closeout style, and is therefore limited to the sizes and widths that are currently available online. Presidio - Slip-on Penny Loafer Men's Dress Shoes by Allen Edmonds Located at the Northern edge of the San Francisco Peninsula, the Presidio was a military outpost for 219 years before it became a part of Golden Gate National Recreation Area, a park beloved by locals and tourists for its historic sites, amazing views and array of natural habitats. Impressed by this dramatic metamorphosis, we named this Slip-on Loafer for the area because of its ability to transition smoothly from a day at the office to a night on the town. A classic penny loafer with a slightly raised vamp, this is the traditional footwear you'll often see worn with slacks and a sport coat. Built on the 222-Last for a longer stylized toe with a slight bump on the nose for a cultivated look, it also has the modern shape you'll want for cocktail hour at the art deco Presidio Social Club or dinner at your favorite hot spot. With superior full leather linings and functional executive rubber soles, these shoes will fit your feet as well as they will suit just about any situation in which you find yourself. Click any link below to view similar styles: Executive rubber sole men's slip-on dress shoes Moc-toe penny loafer Lined calfskin leather upper 360 degree Goodyear welted construction (learn about our <a href="http://www.allenedmonds.com/aeonline/AboutAECraftsmanship?catalogId=40000000001&langId=-1&storeId=1" target="_blank"">212 steps of Craftsmanship ) Manufactured on the welted 2-222 Last (learn all about lasts ) This shoe is eligible for our full Recrafting service (learn about Allen Edmonds legendary shoe Recrafting ) Proudly made in the USA at our Port Washington, Wisconsin factory Allen Edmonds Custom Men's Shoes Many of our shoe styles can be ordered in mis-matched and special sizes for a nominal charge through our Consumer Assistance Center at 1-800-235-2348. Allen Edmonds Shoe Care Visit ' Caring for Your Shoes ' to learn how to keep these shoes looking great for years to come.
Overall rating:
1.867 / 5
1.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
1
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
7
1 Star
6
1 out of 14(7%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Presidio Black Calfskin
Review 1 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Beautiful shoe- HORRIBLE FIT !!

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
STAN
From: New Jersey
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs very short
Runs long
Runs very short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much narrower
Runs wide
Runs much narrower
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs much smaller
Runs Larger
Runs much smaller
No wonder this is a close out !
I needed a dark brown shoe and loved the looks of the Presidio...very tight when I tried them on but I figured they would break in like all the other Allen Edmonds shoes I have purchased. WRONG!!!
Had the shoemaker stretch them so I could tolerate the pain for short periods....
Quality Control must have been on vacation when they ran this style....very disappointing!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceOctober 2, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very small shoe with poor durability and an uncomfortable fit

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Ben
From: Charlotte, NC
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
Got these shoes as a gift from a family member, and I have to say that I am very disappointed with them. I have owned a number of pairs of Allen Edmonds shoes in my life, and I have been extremely pleased, but it's almost like this shoe was made by a different company.
First, the fit is VERY narrow, and a little shorter than my Park Avenues. I thought they may just need some breaking in, so I wore them a couple of times.
The first time I wore them, I got a blister on the top of my foot where the tongue rubbed against my foot. This is not soft leather.
After my foot healed, I figured I'd try them again to see if I could break in the leather some more. I still got a blister, but it wasn't nearly as bad. What was bad, though, was the fact that I completely lost the rubber part of my right heel while I was walking down the street. I had to go to my car and wear my driving shoes for the rest of the day. Upon further inspection, I noticed that the heel on my left shoe is also beginning to separate. I know that this is a fixable problem, but this should never happen after 2 days of wear. These shoes are obviously defective.
I've considered paying to get them fixed, but they are so uncomfortable that I really don't think they are worth the trouble. Even if I got them fixed, the leather is so uncomfortable and stiff that I really don't think I would wear them again.
I love Allen Edmonds products and I wear them daily (I work in public accounting), but shoes like these are the kind that can leave a bad taste in your mouth. Avoid if at all possible.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service October 2, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Hurt Like Heck

PostedAugust 27, 2012
Customer avatar
BTS
From: San Francisco
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I received a pair of these for Christmas from my wife. Was pretty excited to get my third pair of AE shoes. Wow do they hurt. Like the other reviews, I'm willing to put up with a little break-in period. But the tongue on these is so stiff it eats into my upper foot. And this is after I paid to have them stretched. Love the look, the construction, the material quality. They just hurt like heck to wear. After 8 hours, I can't wait to get them off me.
I wish I could return them but I'm not sure if I can with a few days wear. What a disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service August 31, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Big disappointment

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Alan
From: illinois
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs short
Runs long
Runs short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
I have worn numerous Allen Edmonds shoes including Grayson and wingtips always a 14D, and always comfortable. Not these. They are short, narrow across the toes and stiff as boards. Too bad. I have admired t
hese for years and finally spent the extra money to buy them. Big mistake!
The worst Allen Edmonds fit ever. If you can't resist, order at least 1/2 size larger.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service August 29, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Presidio Black Calfskin
This review is fromPresidio Burgundy Calfskin.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

I'll pile on: Wish I could get my money back

PostedAugust 15, 2012
Customer avatar
EC
From: New York City
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
I bought this model from Brooks Brothers. In E width. Took them to be stretched. Twice. Took them on the road. I excused myself from the meeting, went to the gents, and pulled off shoe and sock, as the pain had gone to a whole new level. My smallest left toe was completely mashed, my sock filled with blood.
The style of loafer I adore. Worst Allen Edmonds I've ever owned.
I had to go buy a pair of Alden Cape Cods to get home. Hurt my shoes and my wallet.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service August 20, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Presidio Black Calfskin
This review is fromPresidio Burgundy Calfskin.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Great looking shoe -- dreadful fit

PostedJuly 15, 2012
Customer avatar
Fullstec
From: Frisco, TX
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
Like the other reviewers my Burgundy Presidio has seen very little pavement as the shoe despite me attempting to stretch it ever seems to wear in. Like the other reviewers I own a number of AE shoes and have had terrific luck --just not here.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service July 17, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Nice shoe, but poor fit

PostedMay 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: NJ
Age: 18-24
Usage: Business
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
Quality and style-wise, these loafers meet the high standards of my other pairs of Allen Edmonds.
However, the fit of the shoes is quite odd. Given the reviews here, I purchased a wider width than I typically do (E). However, the toebox is much too tight especially given the wider size. Conversely, the heel is very wide and creates some slippage issues.
After one day of wear, these shoes were extremely uncomfortable. I understand some break-in time, but I'm not sure if I can get through the pain for another wear. I wonder if the rubber sole has anything to do with the fit, as these are my first rubber soled AE shoes.
Looking back, I should have worn them around the house more before taking them outside.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJune 5, 2012
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too narrow

PostedMay 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Mi
From: Slc, ut
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
The shoes look amazing, but right where the shoes wrap on top of the foot, it is way too tight. After a few hours, blood circulation get cut off. Wonder if these shoes would stretch...
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service June 5, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brilliant style. Horrible fit.

PostedMay 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
I bought these shoes for a little edgier look. I tried to keep the shoe but it was like wearing a vice. The look was outstanding with eveything I wore but couldn't walk any distance without pain. The leather was never going to break in. Love many of the AE styles and own one pair but still have trouble getting thru the day without feeling the pinch. Thought it was my foot but I have a variety of shoes and styles that don't bite. But, I still like looking at the styles. Want the Monk but just can't do it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service June 5, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Presidio Black Calfskin
This review is fromPresidio Burgundy Calfskin.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Great styling, too narrow

PostedJune 7, 2012
Customer avatar
RSG
Age: 25-34
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much narrower
Runs wide
Runs much narrower
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
I'm in the same boat as other reviewers, unfortunately. I purchased these in 12D and found the fit way too narrow. The leather is quite unforgiving, and the fit around the toe box causes pain after a bit of walking. It's a shame as the style is perfect for me and very versatile.
I'm definitely an AE fan but these shoes just didn't work out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service July 3, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent. It's Allen Edmonds!

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Lars
From: Iowa
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs slightly small
Runs Larger
Runs slightly small
This is my second pair of Allen Edmonds and their will be more! I like a shoe to fit perfectly when slipped on. These take an hour to stretch. They will be enjoyed for years. Extremely well built.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Presidio Black Calfskin
This review is fromPresidio Burgundy Calfskin.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very narrow fit.

PostedApril 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Conleyb5
From: Washington DC
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much narrower
Runs wide
Runs much narrower
I have also purchased several pairs of AE's in the past and have had nothing but great things to say about their shoes. Unfortunately I can not say the same thing about this particular pair. It is very narrow, and causes quite a bit of pain. My pair are still brand new (only worn twice) and I have been unable to wear them due to the uncomfortable fit. I would not recommend this pair unless you have narrow feet.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJune 5, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Presidio Black Calfskin
This review is fromPresidio Burgundy Calfskin.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Too Narrow

PostedMarch 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much narrower
Runs wide
Runs much narrower
I am actually in the same boat as Mark. A store representative recommended that I get 9Ds and they were the narrowest shoes ever. I tried stretching it at a cobbler even.
Luckily, I finally found an AE store that said would switch them out for 9Es for a wear charge. I'm going tomorrow and hopefully this is successful.
I have no issues with all of my other AE shoes...
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Presidio Black Calfskin
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Decent quality but poor fit

PostedJanuary 7, 2012
Customer avatar
Anthony
From: Mass
Age: 25-34
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
I got these as an xmas gift to wear at work. I stand alot.My girlfriend thought this would be a good model because its a slip on. This is my 7th pair of AE dress shoes and all the others fit great. These fit horribly and I cant wear them for more than 15 minutes without extreme discomfort. These are an E but are very tight in the toe box. Also they immediately creased due to the poor fit and look terrible.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJanuary 18, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Presidio Black Calfskin
This review is fromPresidio Burgundy Calfskin.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not recommended for anyone unless they have a narrow foot

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
MarkfromBoston
From: Boston, MA
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Over the years I have purchased seven pairs of AE shoes and one belt. These shoes are clearly the most narrow of any AE shoes that I have ever purchased. They felt fine in the store but a day of wearing, they were killing my outside toes. My local AE store has put them on the stretcher twice and it has helped a little. However, they still bother me. I regret the purchase and would advise anyone considering the shoe to wear these around the house a few days before deciding to keep
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceFebruary 29, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.