Allen Edmonds Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Verona Italian Loafers

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Allen Edmonds.

Verona Italian Loafers

This clearance shoe is a closeout style, and is therefore limited to the sizes and widths that are currently available online. Verona Italian Loafers - Italian Made Moc-toe Bit Slip-on Loafer Men's Dress Shoes by Allen Edmonds Rounded edge leather sole men's slip-on loafer dress shoes Moc-toe loafer with saddle and bit Part of the Italian Collection of premium men's shoes Lined premium calfskin leather upper with combination leather/rubber heel Bologna construction Made in Italy
Overall rating:
3.84 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
4
1 Star
2
16 out of 23(70%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Verona Italian Loafers
Review 1 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good looking shoe, but don't expect to last long

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Customer avatar
clemsontiger
From: Denver, CO
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
This is a nice looking shoe but compared to others in its price range, the quality is really lacking. I bought a pair of Verona's a year ago and have worn them regularly, but by no means all the time, and the shoe is currently unwearable. The soles have worn almost completely and the leather around the toe has torn. I have always had long lasting, quality shoes with AE, but unfortunately not this time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not Easily Re-crafted

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
The shoe was great for about a year and half at which point I took them to the local AE store to have them recrafted. The first time the shoe was returned the heel was approximately 1/2 inch off the ground. I returned them to the store to have the issue corrected; the shoe was then returned with the back of the heel thicker than the front to correct the issue. Now the shoe looks awkward and I have only worn them a handful of times since getting them back. I have had other shoes (Ferragamo/Gucci) resoled by mom and pop shops that have done a much better job in a fraction of the time. I would not purchase these shoes with the expectation of having them recrafted by AE.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service August 28, 2013
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Looks nice, but not AE quality

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Scentrist
From: New York, NY
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs slightly large
Runs Larger
Runs slightly large
I purchased a pair of these about 18 months ago, and only wear them occasionally. The soles are paper thin compared to similar shoes (I have a pair of very similar Guccis), and even with occasional shining the quality of the leather is just not what I expected when I paid $300 for them. While they look nice, they don't tend to wear well and aren't substantially constructed. If you're walking on anything other than carpet, your feet are going to feel very mistreated by these.
For comparison, I have a similarly styled pair of Guccis ($500) that I've worn more often that are much better constructed, and even a pair of similar Cole Haan's from an outlet that have worn much better (for under $100). This wouldn't be a shoe I'd recommend.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceAugust 12, 2013
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Verona Loafers

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
I bought these shoes recently, and they look great and are comfortable. However, after only about a month the rubber on the heel of the right shoe has started to come loose. This is relatively easy to have fixed, but I would expect much better durability and longevity from Allen Edmonds.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJuly 30, 2013
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoes

PostedJuly 21, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Verona shoes look amazing. The shoes have a very elegant shine to them and managed to draw the attention of everyone I passed by. The shoes do give you a little cold comfort for the first day or so but get significantly better within a couple of days. I usually have a very hard time finding a good fit for shoes but these were a great pair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Poor Quality

PostedJune 20, 2013
Customer avatar
GDR
From: Greenwich, CT
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Three months after having purchased the product, the front half of the sole had come off (came off while I was on the road for work, which in itself became a huge headache). I had the sole replaced by a local cobbler and have had no issues since. For what it's worth, I've noticed several other reviews highlighting the same quality issue. For a +$300 loafer, I personally find this unacceptable.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJune 21, 2013
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice shoe until you do something where you have to polish it

PostedMay 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Steve
From: Beavercreek, OH
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little long
Runs long
Runs a little long
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
It was a very attractive shoe until I got some "splatter" on it when I went to the bathroom (the first time wearing it too). When I attempted to condition and polish the one shoe, it took the shine away and made it crease. Just like I've found with other Allen Edmond shoes that I've purchased, this shoe seems to be very temperamental to the use of any shoe care products on it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very comfortable pair of shoes

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Crcar414
From: Boston, MA
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These are by far the most comfortable pair of shoes I own. I am on my feet 10+ hrs a day and could not do it without these great looking shoes. Since purchasing three coworkers have bought the same because of how highly I speak of them. Little disappointed when I had them for 6 less than 6 months and some of the stitching has come undone. Not a big problem of for now.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

nice shoe- not for everyone

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Al A.
From: Ny, NY
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
I liked the look of the shoe and the salesman at the 6th ave store in NYC was very helpful. After wearing it for a few weeks I realized its not a great shoe for me- My foot runs wide and I tend to walk on the outside of my feet- this shoe doesn't have a lot of side supprt and there is no arch support. Not a great shoe to wear for long days.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceFebruary 26, 2013
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Verona dress shoe-black

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
TonyF
From: Boston
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Spot On
Runs Larger
Spot On
these are hands down the most comfortable dress shoes I own. and they are sharp looking as well. Will be buying shoes here from now on.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Business as usual

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Lexington, KY
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
These are my 5th pair of Allen Edmonds and all have been wonderful. I expected nothing less that what I got. Great shoe, fit & look.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Look

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Eric27
From: New Milford, CT
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased the Verona loafers in September and I have to say, I love them. Whenever I wear them I always get tons of compliments which is nice. They are also very comfortable as well. I recently purchased the Maxfield loafers but have yet to wear them due to the CT winter, but I'm sure that they will be of the same quality. Keep up the good work Allen Edmonds, I am now a customer for life.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe! Would definitely recommend!

PostedDecember 3, 2012
Customer avatar
Wesley831
From: San Diego, CA
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I purchased these shoes in black and in brown over a year ago and have loved them! I wear them 2 times/week and the shoes have held up great for me. I wear an 8 in AE's lace-up dress shoes but a 7 in these. Overall, I'm very satisfied with these shoes!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointing Quality

PostedNovember 24, 2012
Customer avatar
Ben
From: Colorado
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Spot On
Runs Larger
Spot On
I was expecting much more from my first pair of Allen Edmonds after hearing of the legendary quality from my dad and so many others. Unfortunately, this shoe has let me down. After only 10 months of wear (~2-3 days/week) the seams on both shoes have come undone. They are very comfortable and stylish so I took them back to the retail store and am having them repaired with a different sole. However, after now spending $450 I am seriously questioning the value.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service November 30, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Comfortable shoe, but bad quality

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Customer avatar
Brendan853
From: Lexington, KY
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Verona was a great shoe when purchased, but after less than 1 year of wear, I am extremely disappointed. The sole is really thin and the construction is poor. I love Allen Edmonds' shoes and spend a good amount of money on their products and end up with a shoe that didn't even last a year. I could of bought a pair of dress shoes from wal-mart that would last longer. The leather is starting to lift up from the sole and this is unacceptable for a shoe that cost $300+. The reason i spend this kind of money on AEs, is because i am expecting a good quality shoe that will last a long time, but this is not one of them. Do not buy this shoe if you are expecting normal AE wear. You will be disappointed with the quality of this shoe and i do not recommend purchasing the Verona. Overall, the shoe is very comfortable and good looking, but dont expect them to last long.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service November 2, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice to look at but thin for city walking

PostedOctober 1, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is a great looking shoe -- I was in the market for a pair of black slip-ons and saw these in the store and was sold on them right away -- they fit like bedroom slippers. A word of caution, though, I am only 1 year in and the soles have taken a beating. They are in need of re-finishing. These are not an 'every other day shoe', but they are a GREAT pair to have in the closet for an occasional wear.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Superb combination of looks and fit plus excellent service @ Chicago's Michigan Ave. store!

PostedAugust 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Had been eyeing these shoes in the AE catalog, and loved the look. Although skeptical about whether the shoe itself would look that good in reality, I ventured into the Michigan Ave store.
If you go there ask for Mark. Extremely helpful, knows his stuff, and will tell it just like it is!
The shoes feel "like butter" they are so incredibly soft! The look is classic. These are incredible shoes!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Good shoes, bad bits

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Zug, Switzerland
Age: 25-34
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little long
Runs long
Runs a little long
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
I recently purchased a pair of black Verona loafers and have found them to be quite comfortable. However, the one of the silver bits has very noticeable pitting and bubbles in its plating. Since the bits are the parts that stand out the most, this severely detracts from the shoe overall. Do yourself a favor and stick to AE shoes without "silver" accessories.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJuly 6, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pair of shoes I have ever owned

PostedJune 18, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is now the 8th pair of Allen Edmonds shoes I have purchased. While I expect top quality, in this case my expectations were actually exceeded. My feet are long and narrow, 12B, and comfort and fit are always risky; sometimes I need to sacrifice one for the other. This pair are the most comfortable and best fitting shoes I have ever purchased. In addition, my right foot is measurably longer than my left foot, yet somehow these shoes are well fit to the left as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Verona Italian Loafers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic looking in person

PostedJanuary 10, 2012
Customer avatar
BantamInChicago
From: Chicago, IL
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I never write reviews for products, but I have to share how happy I am with these shoes. I was completely ready to spend $500+ for a quality pair of bit loafers, but on a whim I decided to stop by my local AE during the xmas sale and try these on.
It is very important that you try every conceivable size that is close to your foot, especially at an AE standalone store where odd sizes are usually in stock. I normally wear an 11.5-12D, but found the 10.5EEE to be a PERFECT fit in these shoes. I was so impressed with the fit, I bought two pairs, and am already thinking about buying more. With the right fit, they are incredibly comfortable due to the flexible sole. The website photos do not do the shoes justice; they are great-looking shoes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>