Allen Edmonds Ratings and Reviews
Shop now at Allen Edmonds
Shoes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Stewart Derby Shoes

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Allen Edmonds.

Stewart Derby Shoes

This clearance shoe is a closeout style, and is therefore limited to the sizes and widths that are currently available online. Stewart - Plain-toe Lace-up Oxford Men's Casual Shoes by Allen Edmonds Leather sole men's lace-up oxford casual shoes Plain-toe blucher style Part of the Rough Collection of premium men's shoes Double oak leather sole with split-reverse welt Lined leather upper 360 degree Goodyear welted construction (learn about our 212 steps of Craftsmanship ) Manufactured on the welted 511 Last (learn all about lasts ) This shoe is eligible for our full Recrafting service (learn about Allen Edmonds legendary shoe Recrafting ) Proudly made in the USA at our Port Washington, Wisconsin factory
Overall rating:
4.286 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
11 out of 13(85%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Stewart Derby Shoes
Review 1 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great Shoe!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Va. Gator
From: Alexandria, Va.
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Other
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Received about a week ago and the "Stewart" is everything I have come to expect from Allen Edmonds...a well made and great looking shoe that fits well from day 1! After 3/4 wearings over the past 10 days, the Stewart is getting more and more comfortable! The foot support is terrific!
It's great to have a good looking tan casual shoe so I can give my Chili Sheltons a rest! #I'm so glad I discovered A/E 30 years ago!#
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great shoe (like all AE shoes)

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Customer avatar
Bucky
From: Roseville CA
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Weekend Casual/Jeans
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just got these for Xmas. My 9th pair. What a great she. Fit like a glove. The color is more tan than the reddish brown shone in the picture. They are still attractive though and a great fit! I love them!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Beautiful Retro Design

PostedDecember 7, 2012
Customer avatar
JoeT
From: New Orleans
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Weekend Casual/Jeans
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs slightly small
Runs Larger
Runs slightly small
The Stewart is my fourth pair of Allen Edmonds. I had never been disappointed with my previous pairs and this shoe was no exception.
Allen Edmonds shoes (especially the 5 last) tend to run long and narrow. My feet are not narrow and nothing is worse than falling in love with a shoe and having to send it back or trying to make it fit even if it doesn't. Not So with the Stewart. This shoe feels like it was made to fit my foot from the first time I put it on. I can only imagine how comfortable it'll be in a few months once I've broken them in.
This is a great shoe to wear with jeans. The peachy brown leather is a really nice contrast to blue or navy denim. It's a shame this shoe is being discontinued.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Most comfortable shoes out of the box ever

PostedSeptember 28, 2012
Customer avatar
B W Dearing
From: Louisville, KY
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This si my third pair of Allen Edmonds. Of all the shoes I have bought these are the most comfortabe out of the box yet. All thre have been eztremely comfortable, but these the most.
I bought these to wear as casual shoes. I got compliments the first day worn. Can't wait to buy my fourth pair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Unfortunately Off

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: New York, NY
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
I love A&E shoes and I have had excellent luck with all my previous A&E purchases. Unfortunately these fell really short of my expectations. The good news is that they look great and are very versatile in that they can be worn with everything from jeans to a suit. However, there are some significant drawbacks. Firstly, aside from the heel, the soles are not rubber so some amount of water makes the shoes very slippery which makes navigating the subways and streets of NY tricky. Secondly, there is nominal padding so these are not walking shoes. Thirdly and most troubling, they kind of hurt the upper part of my feet. I am hopeful that once they are broken in they will be less hard to wear but getting to that point has be painful. I hate to write this because I truly love A&E shoes and I have been a loyal customer.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceSeptember 18, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great casual shoes

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely perfect with jeans and khakis. The color is just dreamy and the fit and comfort were just right. In other words, another typical A-E winner! Can't wait to put 'em on again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Much better than the Finch

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Customer avatar
wBr
From: Mansfield, TX
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
After my not so great review of the Finch I have nothing but good things to say about this shoe. Even though the Finch and Stewart are built on the same last, the fit is substantially different. The Stewart seems to have a much fuller toe box and fits great. I wasn't about to order this shoe from the website and ship boxes back and forth to find the right fit. I recommend going into a store and trying on at least two pair (what you think you wear and what you actually wear) to make the best consumer decision. I'm very pleased thus far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking shoe!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Customer avatar
marmarsh56
From: VA
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This was my first pair of Allen Edmonds that I have purchased. I feel like I have been really missing out! Wow, these babies feel like a million bucks on your feet. If you can, try on this last in a store first before purchasing to make sure it is a good fit for your foot. I feel like they took a mold of my foot and made this shoe personally for me.
These are top quality shoes from a top quality shoe company. Now I am hooked for life. Not even going to waste time or money buying sub-par shoes ever again. Thank you Allen Edmonds!
NOTE: These shoes are more of a two-tone brown shoe similar to the Eldin with a darker brown at the toe fading to a lighter brown back towards the heel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Very comfortable shoes, but needs improvement on stitching near eyelets

PostedJuly 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Bijirin
From: Bekasi, Indonesia
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little long
Runs long
Runs a little long
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
This is my first pair of Allen Edmonds and they are the most comfortable shoes I have ever owned. The true colour is a bit brighter than shown in the website, and the toe are burnished.
However, after 2 months of fair usage (approx 2-3 days per week for office works), the stitching near the eyelets starts breaking. This needs improvement for the future Stewart production to come up with stronger construction.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceJuly 24, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love it, but slightly different than pictured.

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly wide
Runs wide
Runs slightly wide
I'm extremely happy with these shoes so far - it's my first pair of Allen Edmonds and they look great. I just want to point out some things that may be helpful when buying ...
The shoe seems to run a little wide (the associate at the Allen Edmonds store I went to pointed this out). I normally wear an E width, but I bought these in a D. They're almost a little tight, but as the leather breaks in I expect they'll fit very well.
Also, as mentioned in another review, I think the color is a bit lighter than pictured. It's still a gorgeous color. They also have a burnished toe that you can't really see in the pictures. I attached a picture I found online that shows a little of the burnishing, although I feel it's slightly more pronounced than this picture shows.
All around: a great shoe, looks awesome with jeans and khakis. I plan to wear them a lot!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The most comfortable of all the Allen Edmonds leather soled shoes I own!

PostedJune 26, 2012
Customer avatar
Steve07
From: Pawtucket,RI
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I was somewhat skeptical that a Rough collection shoe would be a good choice for fit and comfort. Boy was I wrong! This pair of shoes have it all. Very much pleased and have received many compliments. Own many pairs of AE shoes but I must say this pair and my Wilberts are my favorites.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Color much lighter than photo shows

PostedJune 12, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I just received a pair of Stewarts and the color is much lighter than the color appears on the website. The shoes are fine, just not what I would have preferred.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service July 3, 2012
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Less is More

PostedMay 29, 2012
Customer avatar
KevinS
From: Elma, NY
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There is an old saying that less is more. This phrase defines the Stewart. I've received numerous compliments on the color of the leather and the simple styling. This is a shoe that can be worn with jeans or a nice pair of trousers and a sport coat.
If you work in a business casual office or are looking for a nice shoe to wear to summer events, this is the shoe for you.
The fit is perfect for my foot. I purchased the Fitch which is made from the same 1-511 last and I am amazed at how well these fit. I said it in that post and I'll say it in this one it feels as though Allen Edmonds used my foot to make the last.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Stewart Derby Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best pair of shoes I've ever worn

PostedMay 10, 2012
Customer avatar
lcoop
From: Texas
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Allen Edmonds rocks! I've never worn a pair of shoes like these before. They make me feel like a 1%er. Seriously, if you can afford shoes like these you should buy them. Worth every penny. I will buy another pair of Allen Edmonds shoes as soon as I make enough money.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.