Allen Edmonds Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords

Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords

This clearance shoe is a closeout style, and is therefore limited to the sizes and widths that are currently available online. Sanford - Cap-toe Lace-up Oxford Men's Dress Shoes by Allen Edmonds Leather sole men's lace-up oxford dress shoes Cap-toe blucher with brogue perforations and medallion Lined premium calfskin leather upper Single oak leather sole 360 degree Goodyear welted construction (learn about our 212 steps of Craftsmanship ) Manufactured on the welted 97 Last (learn all about lasts ) This shoe is eligible for our full Recrafting service (learn about Allen Edmonds legendary shoe Recrafting ) Proudly made in the USA at our Port Washington, Wisconsin factory
Overall rating:
4.453 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(53 reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 53 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
5
1 Star
2
42 out of 50(84%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Review 1 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Thank you for bringing back the Classics

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
cantgitenuf
From: Urbana, IL
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Sanford was the first AE shoe I purchased about 20 years ago. It was shortly after I had the opportunity to meet Luciano Barbera at a trunk show in Chicago. Senor Barbera, for those who don't know is an elegant designer from Italy who by far is the best dressed person I had ever met. He was impeccably attired in a vivid blue striped shirt, a complimentary blue woven tie, and the most luxurious grey flannel pinstripe suit I had ever seen. As I looked at him from head to toe, I saw these handsome tan blucher cap toe perforated shoes that looked striking against the grey flannel. These shoes had to be obviously custom made. There was not a wrinkle or bump in the silhoutte. The toe was round but slightly pointed. The toe also laid flat to give it this totally aesthetic look.
I couldn't afford his $4,000 suit, nor his $400 shirts, but I had to find those shoes. A few months later when Nordstrom's opened in the Chicago area, I saw the Chestnut Sanford at an AE trunk show. These looked just like the ones I saw on Sr. Barbera.
I told the fitter I am having a fitting problem because of my wide foot. He told me no problem because AE had E and EE widths. Plus the blucher gives a bit more room across the vamp. I put them on and the felt so much better than the English handmade shoes I had been purchasing. The fit was outstanding and just like Barbera's custom made, the silhoutte glided across my instep like it was handmade for myself.
I bought them without hesitation. A few months later, I purchased the black pair.
After recrafting the originals and my subsequent black pair for the second time, the shoes have shown their 20 years inside and out, plus in time my foot has still grown a bit. I haven't thrown them away for sentimental reasons. The patina from those years of polishing look like beautiful piece of wood under lacquer finish.
These shoes became more of a museum piece than a practical part of my wardrobe until AE re-introduced the Sanford again.
Needless to say, this pair fits just like my first pair (but a half size larger now). And for those thinking that a blucher is a clunky shoes, think again. Like the first time I spied these shoes 20 years ago, these are very elegant. Now if AE will bring back the Chester.....
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A shoe that lasts

PostedAugust 24, 2011
Customer avatar
FishOn003
From: Denver, Colorado
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Purchased this shoe back in 1997. Wore them for 5 years. Left the corporate world for 7 years, (moved to the mountains and worked as an outfitter/guide). Came back to the corporate world in 2009, pulled them, (as well as my other two pairs of Allen Edmonds), out of moth balls and put them back into service. After 3 more years, two of the three pairs are finally going back to AE for recrafting. All things considered, buying another brand shoe just doesn't make much sense to me. I guess I could have saved money and bought lesser brands, but I would have missed the great AE fit and probably had to replace them many times over.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very good looking shoes

PostedSeptember 11, 2011
Customer avatar
Geoff
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Monthly
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recently acquired a pair of Sanford shoes. Great fitting and very comfortable. Durable and will last a lifetime.
Oak/Walnut color Pairs nicely with blues and greys.
I wear with dress slacks and dress shirt.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My Very First Pair Of AE's

PostedNovember 9, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WOW.... I'm really surprised to see this shoe back once again. The Sanford is what sold me to Allen Edmonds (AE) back in the early to late 90's. Yeah... it's been that long. And I haven't looked at any other brand of shoes since then. Not to brag but I must have at least ten pairs of AE's and they all look as good as when I bought them. I've even convinced other guys in the office to purchase AE's and now they're hooked. My opinion, everyman should own at least one pair of AE's. It's like a rite of passage.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Outstanding fit, style, and finish

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Dallas Fort Worth
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have worn the shoe for only six days, and continue to get complements on its appearance.
My wardrobe is largely custom clothing. Up to this point, I have not had shoes which carefully "dress up" my clothing. Allen Edmonds shoes do such a thing.
I am in the process of completely changing out my shoe wardrobe, and I am exclusively using Allen Edmonds products.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Like new

PostedAugust 27, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value! Excellent refurbishment job. Fast service. I'm impressed.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

One of my favorite shoes

PostedAugust 25, 2011
Customer avatar
AE OKC
From: OKC, OK
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is one of my favorite shoes - the cap toe, the perfing, everthing works together in the blucher style to be a great shoe for everything from suits to business casual.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Stylish, Comfortable, and Durable

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Charles68
From: Medford, OR
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have two pairs of Sanford's, and have worn them for years. It is a timeless, versatile design that can dress up casual or work pants yet still goes great with a suit. After many years of wearings, the shoes still take a great shine. Both pairs have been through recrafting and still look nearly new! These were my first Allen Edmonds - they made me a fan of the brand and convinced me to try more styles over the years.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Purchased 1993--still running strong

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
sprim01
From: Denver
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I originally purchased this shoe in 1993 and have now had them recrafted twice. They are still looking good. They are one of my four pair of Edmonds in my closet. Love them!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

True classic and good looks

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Customer avatar
Steve0
From: Philadelphia, PA
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
I have this shoe in black and an older burgundy color not made anymore. I love the look of this shoe and wear it often. I do find that it fits around a half size smaller for me. I'm an 11.5 and wear an 11 in this shoe. This is one shoe you can't go wrong with and should have in your closet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A classic, good in all environments

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Mountain majesty
From: Colorado Springs, CO
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
This is one of my favorite Allen Edmonds shoes (I own three other pairs). The styling is classic and they "go" with many styles and in many environments. Fit is superb and the comfort helps me get through sometimes long days.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great quality and looks

PostedAugust 7, 2011
Customer avatar
Pistol Pete 56
From: New York
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
Beautiful shoes, high quality, my only complaint is the 3e runs a hair more narrow than other 3e's I have from Johnston & Murphy. However, the quality is the best I've ever had from a shoe and the styling of the shoe is very very handsome.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Always Remember Your First

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Until I bought these shoes, I had never owned a pair of dress shoes, other than department store imitations. Being in college, money is something that is in very short supply. Luckily for me, I found these in a thrift store. They had been kept very well, and as soon as I put them on, it felt like they were made for me. If I had the money, I would buy as many as I could take back to school. The amount of detail put into these is amazing. I couldn't recommend them highly enough.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

After years of use, these shoes maintain their new look and fit

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Langkous
From: San Jose, California
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I've had a pair of Sanford shoes by Allen Edmonds for over ten years. They still maintain their original "new" look and fit. They are the most comfortable shoes I own. I hope to maintain and use them for many more years. I love these shoes!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This product is comfortable and very stylish.

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Customer avatar
honey
From: Lenoir City, TN
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Spot On
Runs Larger
Spot On
Very comfortable pair of shoes
Goes great with all my suits
Easy to polish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

The only cap toe blucher that AE sells

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
suginami
From: Southern California
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much wider
Runs wide
Runs much wider
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs slightly small
Runs Larger
Runs slightly small
If you want to buy a cap toe blucher, with or without broguing, this is it.
The beauty of this shoe is that it is on the #7 last, which is great for those of us that have wide feet, and don't fit well in the #5 last (Park Avenue, Fifth Avenue, etc.).
This last does run a little short, and I wish I would've purchased shoes in 1/2 size longer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

My first AE shoes, and still my favorites!

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Customer avatar
LET-CA
From: Sacramento, CA
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
I purchased a pair of Sanfords in Dallas, TX in the late 90's and wore them for many years until they were thrashed. They sat for several years in my closet until I sent them back to AE for recrafting last year and they came back looking and feeling like new. I have several pairs of good shoes now but these hold a special place in my heart as they were the first really good pair of shoes that I purchased. I'm pleased to see they've been re-introduced. I'll get a pair in brown too!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

as billed, timeless and comfortable

PostedAugust 29, 2011
Customer avatar
medhat
From: Wisconsin
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My very first AE shoe, I didn't know it was still in production. My "go to" shoes for years, they've been recrafted 3-4 times and look and feel great. Not as fashion forward as my Evanstons, as they lack a more extended vamp (I think that's the right term), but still a looker. I also like that the sole isn't as thick as some other AE's I own, and I think that looks a little more formal, but not as formal as the Park Avenues.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fond memories of my first AE shoes

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Customer avatar
lwmarti
From: San Jose, CA
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
When I see this model on the AE web site I can't help but remembering my very first pair of AE shoes that I picked up in a Nordstrom in Baltimore back in what was probably the early '90s. I don't quite know why, but the Sanford looked better than the other models displayed near it so I ended up picking up a pair. I'm sad to say that I recently retired that pair, but the other dozen or so pairs of AE shoes that I still have are definitely due to how happy I was with that first pair many years ago. In any case, these are excellent shoes that I would easily recommend to anyone in the market for a nice, versatile pair of shoes.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sanford Cap-toe Oxfords
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Another great AE shoe.

PostedFebruary 14, 2012
Customer avatar
L.F.Jewell
From: Davenport, IA
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Sanford has quickly become one of the frontliners in my everyday business wear. I have in the past been partial to the 5-65 last but am finding that I also enjoy the fit of the Sanfords 7-97. They seem to be perfect on my 13B foot. They wear well, get more confortable with each wear, and of course reek of Allen Edmonds quality. A+
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>