Customer reviews for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher

Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher

Kenilworth Plain-Toe Men's Dress Shoes by Allen Edmonds
Overall rating:
3.634 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(142 reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 142 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
17
1 Star
21
81 out of 132(61%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 38 Answers
Customer reviews for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Review 1 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A fine shoe and style.`

PostedAugust 6, 2019
I really like this shoe. Fits true to the sizes of my Allen Edmond collection. Give it a high wearability index: casual with khakis through sportsuits. 'Will look forward to AE adding walnut to the color scale so that I can order another pair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: Montana
I received a sweepstakes entry for writing this review.: No
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review 2 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Noticeable AE Quality Control issues

PostedJuly 25, 2019
Potential Buyers,
I’ve had to return brand new shoes from Allen Edmonds twice in the last six months per quality control issues. They do not allow exchanges for the same shoes without the problems. They refund your money and you have to reorder and hope the shoes do not have the same defect. I’ve been an AE customer for quite some time and have around 10 pairs in my collection. They are my favorite shoe maker even despite recent QC failure. I really hope they can turn it around. In addition to this I’ve made orders on the website of items they listed as having only to be informed that item and/ or size of item was no longer available. Please update your website in a timely manner.
Pair one: the captioned Kenilworth in brown. Looked forward to this shoe. The leather was incorrectly dyed compared to the picture. The gradient on the color when moving towards the toe is gradual in the picture. In the shoes I received it is so abrupt the shoe looks like it has a painted on cap toe line!
Pair 2: 5th Avenue in black. Long time AE model. Both shoes had large ridged creases in front of the brogue on the cap toe before ever worn. Frankly this lack of quality control wouldn’t be allowed in a shoe offered at Walmart at three times less the price. Not an exaggerated statement. These shoes should not even been allowed to be sold as factory seconds.
I sincerely hope AE corrects these QC issues. When reading some of the reviews previously I thought they were exaggerated rants because I had not yet experienced it. But now I have twice in six months. So it appears to be a real concern. I may just purchase in store from now on. Online buying is a gamble. At this price point this is unacceptable.
I look forward to purchasing more AE in the future. I rarely if ever review items purchased online. However, I hope AE will see this QC problem for what it is and simply fix the issues.
Sincerely,
Concerned Customer
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: Bartlesville, OK
Age: 35-44
I received a sweepstakes entry for writing this review.: No
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Review 3 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Looks Good But...

PostedJune 24, 2019
The shoe buckles a little, and it is squeaky. I like Allen Edmunds shoes when they work out, but 2 out of the last 3 pairs I've bought have had serious issues, including one pair that is unwearable because the cut rubs against my ankle bone and is squeaky as well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: Washington DC
Age: 35-44
I received a sweepstakes entry for writing this review.: No
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Size
True to size
Small
Large
Width
True to width
Narrow
Wide
Review 4 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Very good shoes but takes a few wears to break in

PostedMay 12, 2019
My first purchase of AE's. The quality is obvious from the time you take them out of the box. I wanted a pair of derbys vs oxfords so I dont have to buy more than one. I have wore them with both slacks and jeans and they look great on both.
The only issue is they are stiff when you first wear them. I didnt know if this was standard with AE but after a few times I wore them a few times they broke in very nicely.
I also love the fact you can purchase in width. I hesitated on purchasing them based on the price but when the anniversary sale came around I jumped at the chance. They were my 5th choice but the best choice. Some of the other kinds I ordered online were too narrow. The size 12E fit great.
I will definitely be purchasing another pair but not in the near future.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: Austin, TX
Age: 35-44
I received a sweepstakes entry for writing this review.: No
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
True to size
Small
Large
Review 5 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same quality or fit as I have come to expect from Allen Edmonds. Very disappointing.

PostedMay 12, 2019
Quality is no up to the usual standard for Allen Edmonds. Leather quality is inferior. Very disappointing.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: Chicago, IL
Age: 55-64
I received a sweepstakes entry for writing this review.: No
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Review 6 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

The eyes have it

PostedMay 10, 2019
The Kenilworth is a very nice shoe. With the plain toe and elongation of the 65-last, it has a simple, understated yet elegant appearance that can pair with almost anything shy of a full suit. I found it difficult to dress down the black color as much as the others but all of them are still pretty versatile.
I want to point out something important regarding the fit of these. People will obviously note the blucher style but they might miss an important detail - namely that the Kenilworth uses three sets of eyelets instead of more. I'm not sure what it is about this, but with less ability to sort of "tie yourself in" it creates kind of a weird fit. For some, it will feel too long despite the fact that it is basically on par with the standard 65-last offerings.
I would say the most egregious issue was that on some pairs, sometimes the looser lacing combined with the soft leather at the quarters would cause this oddball bowing/gaping at the ankles when you walked. I had this happen on one pair I tried but not others. AE will probably say that this is a fit issue entirely (which is possible, I'm not sure) but I'm making a point of this because I have NEVER had a bowing/gaping issue on anything else on the 65-last besides the Kenilworth and this was in my normal size.
Bottom line is if you are lucky enough not to get the bowing, these should be fine By the way, if you're still worried about the toebox looking too plain, about an hour after your start wearing these you'll crease the toe enough that they definitely will not look too plain anymore :)
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
I received a sweepstakes entry for writing this review.: No
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Satisfaction 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Runs slightly large
Small
Large
Width
True to width
Narrow
Wide
Review 7 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good-looking

PostedMarch 29, 2015
I got a pair of these in Bourbon, size 10 D, when they were on sale; I liked them so much I tried to get a pair in brown but they had sold out. The only other pair I have in the 65 last are a pair of McAllisters; this pair is a little more roomy in the forefoot, which I gather tends to be the case with Blucher-style shoes built on the same last as a Balmoral - the Blucher will tend to be roomier. Other than that, the shoe fits similarly to the McAllisters.
These may be a bit plain compared to other AE shoes, and maybe at full price they seemed too expensive for such a simple-looking shoe. I admit that if they hadn't been on sale I probably wouldn't have bought them. But the simplicity is what I like about them, and what attracted me to them in the first place.
I thought they might be versatile, in that you could dress up or down with them. I was right. The simplicity lets you do either. The Bourbon color is gorgeous; I've worn them with light and dark blue suits and light and dark gray pants. Slacks, Sportcoats, Jeans.
Now that I've got a pair, I'm sad they're no longer offered!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
From: South Carolina
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Runs slightly wide
Narrow
Wide
Review 8 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great looking shoe.

PostedMarch 22, 2015
This is great looking Oxford shoe. I was pleased with the look out of the box, and they look very good with dress pants. As others have said they do squeak some, but I'm hoping that will go away in time.
They were quite comfortable the first time I wore them which was for 8 hours straight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
From: Nashville, TN
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review 9 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Not perfect, but a very nice style.

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
I love this plain-toe 3-hole derby. This style, to me, is perfect for a casual shoe.
I ordered these shoes in a 9D when normally I would wear a 9.5D or 10C. Since they were on closeout and only 9D was available, and since I read that these run long, I thought I'd give it a shot. They are a little tight on the outside toes but fit ok. I have not experienced any of the bowing at the ankle that others have mentioned. Perhaps this may have been an issue if I had gotten a larger size.
The pair that I got has a couple of minor defects, stray stitching, a clump of glue in the insole, and what looks like a teeny bit of seperation between the welt and the sole in one spot. This is my first pair of AEs and I'm not sure if I'm supposed to expect them to be absolutely perfect, but they are still the nicest shoes I own.
I'll definitely be going a size up on my next pair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: Barrie, Ontario
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Length
Runs a little long
Short
Long
Runs a little long
Review 10 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
This is my first pair of Allen Edmonds and I am very impressed with the looks, the obvious quality and the comfort. I am so impressed that I just ordered a pair of black derby shoes as well. I look forward to receiving them so I have a brown and a black pair of Allen Edmonds.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: Mahtomedi, MN
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review 11 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good shoe, runs long.

PostedFebruary 16, 2015
I bought a pair 1 full size smaller than I usually get and it was a perfect fit.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs long
Short
Long
Runs long
Review 12 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality, Style and Comfort

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Great Shoe for Dress Up and at the same time fit is very good.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Formal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs slightly wide
Narrow
Wide
Review 13 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality all leather shoe like shoes of years past

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
This makes my second pair of Allen Edmonds and I am well pleased with both. Only all leather gives the look and support shoes are supposed to give.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: Simpsonville, SC
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs slightly wide
Narrow
Wide
Review 14 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good looking all around shoe

PostedJanuary 23, 2015
As with all A & E shoes this one is a keeper. Great quality and style.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: Palatine, Il
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review 15 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Look at a different pair of a/e shoes

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
I have been a customer for many years and have bought some great shoes from a/e. these are not one of them. They are not a good shoe.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceFebruary 10, 2015
Thank you for your review of the Kenilworth and we are concerned to read about the discomfort you are experiencing. Our goal is to make sure you are 100% satisfied with your purchase and to have a pair of shoes that you enjoy wearing. In order to better service you, please reach out to our customer service team when you have a moment at 1-877-817-7615 or eservice@allenedmonds.com. We hope to find you a resolution that you can be satisfied with.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
From: Saginaw mi
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Review 16 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Decent for clearance price

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
First pair of AEs. Picked these up in the 'Bourbon' color (couldn't leave a review there as the link to the page is broken). Paid about $150 after clearance price plus a $50 AE promo statement credit from American Express.
Color is ok - more dark yellow-ish brown than the richer, more red shade brown shown in picture. Fortunately, I bought these on clearance specifically as more of a kick-around pair, and I'm actually thinking they'll look better as they wear in over time.
Quality is fine - not blown away, and would have expected more if I'd paid full $300 retail. Oddest thing is that these squeak. It's not the sole. The leather around the laces seems to rub against the tongue when I walk and make a creaking sound. I'm not sure whether this will go away with time. Perhaps it's an issue of poor fit, though I'm otherwise happy with the fit. Generally, the leather seems decent - a bit stiff and definitely left a blister when new, but as mentioned, seems likely to improve with wear.
Overall verdict - worth it at clearance price but not sure I'd be thrilled to have paid full retail (or anywhere near it). For $150 net promo price I can't complain too much - aside from the squeaking, which I really hope will fade as they break in.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: New York, NY
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Length
Runs a little long
Short
Long
Runs a little long
Review 17 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Solid Dark Brown Dress Shoe

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
My first purchase from Allen Edmonds, so I went for a sale/close-out item. Well worth the $195 spent. The shoe looks good and loosens up a bit after wearing a few times (like any quality leather). The brown is dark, but clearly distinguishable from black. After I see how they hold up over time, Allen Edmonds might have a loyal customer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: Virginia
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review 18 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
This review is fromKenilworth Derby Shoes.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good overall dress shoe

PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Good overall shoe, hopefully the shoe will become a bit more comfortable the more I wear them. I have only worn them once so far.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
From: Des Moines
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Review 19 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I hope they are not broken in yet...

PostedDecember 1, 2014
They started out horribly stiff and uncomfortable. There have been a few times I came home and had a blister on my feet. But the longer I wear them the more they seem to loosen up and fit my feet better. I just wonder if they will ever settle in to a point where I really enjoy wearing them.
I'm quite impressed by these shoes. The fact that they can be re-built is a huge plus to me and they seem like very high quality shoes.
The only hang-up is the size. I don't know if there would be have been a better size to fit my feet, which causes me to question the comfort they will provide. After a month or so they are pretty comfortable, but I hate to think what my feet would feel like should I ever have to walk a few extra miles in these shoes!
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: NW Ohio
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width
Runs slightly narrow
Narrow
Wide
Review 20 for Kenilworth Plain-Toe Blucher
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Comfort and Class

PostedDecember 1, 2014
This was my first introduction to the Allen Edmond brand 2012 and i have never looked back afterwards. It is all you want in a shoe, great work, it has style, elegance, comfort and fit-for purpose.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
From: Lagos
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Formal
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Runs true to width
Narrow
Wide
1 2 3 4 5 ... 8 next>>