Allen Edmonds Ratings and Reviews

Customer reviews for Malvern Chukka Boots

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Allen Edmonds.

Malvern Chukka Boots

~ This clearance shoe is a closeout style, and is therefore limited to the sizes and widths that are currently available online. Malvern - Plain-toe Lace-up Oxford Men's Chukka Boots by Allen Edmonds Rubber sole men's boots Plain-toe chukka boot Lined premium grain calfskin , upper Titan rubber sole 360 degree Goodyear welted construction (learn about our 212 steps of Craftsmanship ) Manufactured on the welted 511 Last (learn all about lasts ) This shoe is eligible for our full Recrafting service (learn about Allen Edmonds legendary shoe Recrafting ) Proudly made in the USA at our Port Washington, Wisconsin factory Everything changes with the seasons. When the leaves start to fall from the trees thoughts turn from the diamond to the gridiron, twill chinos are shelved in favor cords and jeans, and even your go-to woven loafers need to take a rest. But don't worry because these three-eyelet blucher-style chukka boots are a more than worthy successor to your favorite summer footwear. Based on a classic work shoe designed to withstand the rigors of early 20th century office life, the thick leather sole makes these a must have as the weather changes from warm and sunny to cool and soggy. Built on the 1-Last for a great fit and rounded, fuller toe these ankle-high boots will feel and look great whether you are wearing them to a casual work environment or your son's football game. Don't blame us if they also end up replacing your winter boots as well.
Overall rating:
3.522 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
7
1 Star
7
29 out of 44(66%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Malvern Chukka Boots
Review 1 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

NOISY SHOE!

PostedMarch 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Alfredo
From: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little long
Runs long
Runs a little long
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
After reading all of the review s on the Malvern, I agree with the gentleman that said they are extremely noisy. I too, am experiencing this problem. I own 3 pair of dress AEs and recently purchased 2 more pairs. I understand there is a breakin period with all AEs. Your stafff here in Dallas made me aware of this. BUT, when does it go away and I'm rewarded, as one reviewer said. This concerns me with all of my AE purchases, considering the price. This pair I can no longer return, after street use. I will say over, after an initial struggle to wear in, nice shoe.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceApril 20, 2012
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Malvern Chukka Boots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Short-term results for a six week arrival time.

PostedSeptember 17, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
From: Philadelphia, Pa
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
At one time, during an eight month period, I purchased 11 pairs of Allen Edmonds shoes. Each particular pair took anywhere from 4 to 6 weeks, sometimes longer, to arrive because of my special size (12 B) that isn't the run of the mill or average C and D width shoe size. I've had some production manufacturing issues with at least 4 pairs and this particular shoe model is the worse. The sole is separating from the rest of the shoe along the sides and the front toe areas.
I don't wear any of my shoes in the snow and/or rain and can only surmise there has been way too many off days during the production process. I'm beginning to think that I should shop around for a company that makes quality shoes that are built to last more than a six month period of time.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceSeptember 18, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Black Grain Calfskin.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Shoe

PostedJune 15, 2012
Customer avatar
RPR
From: San Francisco
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought this shoe in black leather and brown suede. The black leather works great with a suite or biz casual. The suede works great with jeans or cords as well as biz casual to the office. I wish I bought two pairs of each.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beautiful shoe but squeezing my foot

PostedDecember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
Peter
From: Sweden
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much narrower
Runs wide
Runs much narrower
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
Interesting comments beneath about the width of the Malverns. I second them. The story is that since I bought my 1st AE shoes some 15 years ago I've always been on size 9-3E. When visiting Chicago, IL some weeks ago I bought two pairs of Malvern. As usual 9-3E. One pair Brown smooth leather and one pair Suede. I noticed already in the AE store that they were both quite tight to my feet, but bought them anyhow as I was in a hurry not to miss my flight. Back home I concluded to my surprise that there was also a difference in width between the two versions. The shoes made of leather were signficantly tighter than the Suede version, actually to the extent that I couldn't use them at all. So I've sold them to a friend. He loves the design and the quality. At least something good coming out of this. My Suede shoes have eventually expanded so that I can use them witout pain. I'm still interested in the brown leather Malverns. But next time I'll ask the store to order 9, 9 1/2 and 10-3E so that I can try the right fit ut. The conclusion is that after all these years I'm now in a state of uncertainty regarding my size of AE shoes. This is unfortunately not a good sign of quality.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service January 18, 2012
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Elegant chukka

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Customer avatar
rico
From: West Orange, NJ
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Weekend Casual/Jeans
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A beautiful shoe in every way. If you are a "loafer" fan, like me, the Malvern does take a bit longer to break in. Be patient, and you will be rewarded with comfort and elegance. Hopefully, in the future, AE will offer this model in lighter brown shade as well.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great shoe, everybody comments on this stylish boot.

PostedNovember 8, 2011
Customer avatar
davevirginia
From: richmond, virginia
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly narrow
Runs wide
Runs slightly narrow
Really great style.
Not the best last for me, as I have a wide foot, but it works in a EEE for me!
The only thing I don't like is the loud squeek of the leather on leather.
I think, it might go away, it is getting less.
One of my favorites for cold weather. I am getting the black calf grain one also.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Shoe; Excellent Fit

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Mike
From: Islamabad, Pakistan
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly wide
Runs wide
Runs slightly wide
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs slightly large
Runs Larger
Runs slightly large
This chukka boot is comfortable and stylish. It looks great whether with business casual or blue jeans. I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

A Great AE Piece!

PostedMarch 20, 2012
Customer avatar
Very Picky
From: Hamilton, ON Canada
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs true to size
Runs long
Runs true to size
Width
Runs narrow
Runs true to width
Runs wide
Runs true to width
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Spot On
Runs Larger
Spot On
I bought this shoe in December 2011 for Canadian Winters! Disappoitingly the sole started to split within a week of getting them! With no slushy days up here either! Don't know what was wrong. Took them back to my retailer and AE had a new pair to me within a few weeks. This pair is performing great. Despite not having a heavy winter here at all these shoes are just the right combination of casual and dress that contributes to it's versatility in most conditions and environments.
The brown grain is one that is spectacular! Have to see it to appreciate how rich looking of a shoe this is. Even when the weather is warming up the lack of a heavy inner lining allows this to be worn on cool days as well.
Great piece AE and thanks for looking after the defect!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
Elgin Cap-toe Oxfords
4.8 out of 5(43)
 
 
 
Leeds Derby Shoes
4.5 out of 5(66)
 
 
 
Park Avenue Cap-toe Oxfords
4.4 out of 5(562)
 
 
 
 
 
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I need a narrow shoe

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Customer avatar
Doug 50
From: Philadelphia
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If Im going to spend over $100 for a shoe I want one that fits my narrow foot and will last 20 - 30 years. And I like a round toe shoe. And Allens E are made in the US
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Malvern Chukka Boots
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

What went wrong?

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Customer avatar
C84
From: Texas
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
I purchased a pair of the Malverns(non-grain) a while back and finally got around to wearing them for a few days. These are easily the most uncomfortable shoes I have ever owned, which is surprising since I've been very pleased with AE's shoes in the past. The sole is extremely(and I mean extremely!) inflexible and the toe box is way too narrow. My feet begin to hurt after standing for a mere hour. It's all too bad considering they look great. Unfortunately for me I purchased these second hand on eBay so I am unable to return them. Based on the other reviews for these shoes, it's obvious my case is not unique. Please save your feet and don't purchase these!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceMarch 1, 2013
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good job AE!!! keep it up

PostedApril 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Rocket5716
From: Texas
Age: 45-54
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great boot. I purchased these about 4 months ago. First time I wore them was on a weekend trip. Was a littlie hesitant to take them because they were new and nt broken in. I went with them anyway and to my surprise, they were very comfortable after being on my feet all day and then driving 4 hour. As i reflectoed on the day, my only though was, these are not even broken in yet!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Be meticulous when sizing!

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Charlie
From: New York City
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
Love these, however, the break-in period was extended and excruciting. I have wide feet, so I ordered the wide. I almost had to resort to having them stretched, but good socks and a high pain threshold got me through it.
Great boot for NYC winter, such as it was in 2012.
Now, however, the toe is delaminating and the heels are shot after just several months of admitedly high intensity Manhattan "schlepping." Hope they can repair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceApril 20, 2012
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Posted January 17, 2013
Super comfortable and styling for walk-to-train commuter shoes. Loved them for about 9 mos to a year, and then the inside of the heel wore through and it rubs every time I step. Seems like they should last longer. Don't know if AE fixes these, or should I take them to my local guy?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

I was unhappy with the fit and the quality.

PostedOctober 28, 2011
Customer avatar
Chickenscratch
From: Billings, MT
Age: 35-44
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: Yes
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Comfort 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs a little short
Runs long
Runs a little short
I have owned numerous pairs of Allan Edmonds shoes over the years and have always raved about their quality and durability. Sadly, however, the Malvern has proven to be an exception. The fit is a little small (My AE shoes have always fit exceptionally well in 10.5 D), and it even looks a bit small for a boot. Furthermore, it is a noisy boot when walking--I am an educator, and I've actually had students comment on the noisy "creaking" sound they produce as I move about the classroom. I special-ordered this boot, and I had hoped that there was a layer of leather sandwiched between the upper and the rubber sole, but unfortunately that was not the case. Regrettably, I can't recommend this boot at this price.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service November 7, 2011
Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly so we can go over your review.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Malvern Chukka Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great casual boot that dresses up

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
casualBoot
From: San Fran, CA
Age: 18-24
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Weekend Casual/Jeans
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs slightly wide
Runs wide
Runs slightly wide
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs slightly large
Runs Larger
Runs slightly large
I was hesitant to purchase a rubber soled boot from AE, having only used their leather soles before. But the malverns have been great and worn very well. The leather has broken in and the pebbled texture goes great on a casual shoe. Exactly what I was looking for - something a bit more dressy than converse or top siders. Highly recommended.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Malvern Chukka Boots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Boot! Try to get Suede! Still some Suede available online.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Customer avatar
David
From: Washington D.C
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
I bought the Malvern boot in suede. After reading some other reviews I was afraid it would not work for me. Everyone agreed with quality but fit and comfort were disagreed on. First thing I did when mine arrived was put them on to walk the dog. To my delight they were a perfect fit and very comfortable. The suede is soft and no discomfort above the ankle. They are getting even more comfortable as I wear them. I can only imagine those who had problems did not have the right fit. I suggest if you get the same size as another AE shoe you own that is a good fit, as I did, they will work for you. Great boot and I got it at the sales price. Best of all worlds!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Malvern Chukka Boots
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

The collar of the boot hurts.

PostedDecember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Dave 303
From: Boston, MA
Age: 55-64
Frequency: Daily
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Beautiful boots but the high collar is very stiff and hurts my ankle above the heel. This is happening on both feet. Not comfortable. Tried wearing extra pair of socks but still hurts. I have only worn these boots for a week or so. Perhaps after wearing awhile, the leather will soften and will stop hurting the back of my ankle?
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceDecember 28, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Malvern Chukka Boots
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

These shoes are just too narrow.

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Width
Runs narrow
Runs narrow
Runs wide
Runs narrow
I bought the brown Malvern direct from A & E earlier this year. To my surprise they were very tight (10 B). I tried stretching them but to no avail. They are beautiful shoes but since I wore them outdoors thinking they would break in, they are unwearable and non-returnable. To plunk down over $300 for shoes that don't fit doesn't sit very well with me. I have had many pairs of A & E shoes and boots but the Malvern was a big disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer Service November 30, 2012
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Fantastic Shoe

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Customer avatar
Edison
From: Saint Clair Shores, MI
Age: Over 64
Frequency: Weekly
Recraft: No
Usage: Weekend Casual/Jeans
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My wife talked me into this shoe. It, however, didn't take much persuading. I tried it on with some casual slacks and it immediately felt and looked great. Bob our salesman couldn't have been nicer. I tried on several others, but this was the one that just felt like it was made for me. I have worn it several times with jeans and cords and have received many compliments. I believe a good shoe is not only an investment, but a treat for the feet. I have about 6 pair of AE's and I rotate them every day. They are all superbly crafted and I have never had a problem with them. I will be a loyal AE guy for life. I love them as much as the Brooks Brothers English Peal & Co. shoes. The only difference is AE is about half the price.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Beautiful boot; awful fit

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Customer avatar
Chris
From: Charleston, WV
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Other
Recraft: No
Usage: Business & Casual
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Overall Fit 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Length
Runs short
Runs very short
Runs long
Runs very short
Width
Runs narrow
Runs much narrower
Runs wide
Runs much narrower
Overall Fit compared to Park Ave.
Runs Smaller
Runs smaller
Runs Larger
Runs smaller
The leather on these is outstanding. The quality of the materials and the construction, as always with AE, is top-shelf. The fit, however, is awful. I'm hoping these will break in a little over time. If not, I doubt they'll see much more wear. The website said these were on the same last as the Leeds and Bradley (1 last), which I've tried on in 11.5D and actually found to run large. These are much shorter and more narrow than either. I held them up to my 4 other AEs that are 11.5D, and they are noticeably shorter. In fact, they're actually the same length as an 11. Therefore, I would not recommend this shoe unless you can try it on in person to figure out your size.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from Allen EdmondsBy Allen Edmonds Customer ServiceDecember 12, 2011
We apologize this experience with Allen Edmonds was disappointing. Our number one priority is to deliver exceptional value to our customers every day. We will contact you directly to see how we can improve the outcome for you.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Malvern Chukka Boots
This review is fromMalvern Chukka Boots.
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Makes for a great dress boot

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Customer avatar
Jeremyb
From: La Jolla, CA
Age: 25-34
Frequency: Monthly
Recraft: No
Usage: Business
Quality 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfort 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Overall Fit 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Still breaking them in (I hope), but my initial impressions are that these make a better dress boot, and aren't ready for the double duty as described by AE. Probably because I went with leather instead of suede. Fantastic quality though, and as the years pass, I'm sure this is not an expense I will regret. Overall very pleased to own a pair of AE boots.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next>>